New VP vows to work for Oceania sports

The ONOC Board: Back from left: Antoine Boudier, Mel Donald, Jim Tobin, Barry Maister.

Front from left: John Coates, Auvita Rapilla, Dr Robin Mitchell (President), Baklai Temengil (Vice-President), Ricardo Blas (Secretary General), Sarah Walker.

By ILIESA TORA at the Sofitel Hotel

(Compliments of ONOC)

DENARAU, Fiji -April 2: 12.20pm (Nuku’alofa Times): New Oceania National Olympic Committee Vice President and Palau’s Minister for Women and Community Ms Baklai Temengil has vowed to work for sports development in the region following her election here at the General Assembly in Denarau, Nadi, Fiji on April 1.

The first woman in the Olympic Movement to become a Vice President of any regional Olympic committee, Baklai said she was honoured and proud to have been elected.

Controlling to hold her tears while thanking the Assembly she said the support given to her had been overwhelming.

Ms Baklai, the current General Secretary of the Palau National Olympic Committee Board, was one of the three nominees for the lone VP post.

The others were New Zealand’s Mike Stanley and Vanuatu’s NOC President Antoine Boudier.


“I will do my best to work with the ONOC Board to help sports development in the region,” she said.

Ms Baklai replaces Barry Maiser of New Zealand, who has resigned.

ONOC Secretary General, Ricardo Blas, who is also the President of the Guam NOC, was re-elected for another four-year term.

Mr Blas thanked the Assembly for having the confidence in him to continue for another term.

“I promise to continue the good work we’ve begun and the many changes that will help progress the National Olympic committees in the region.”

Mr Blas was contested for the ONOC SG’s position, by Cook Islands NOC President, Hugh Graham.

ONOC  President Dr. Robin Mitchell of Fiji was elected unopposed.

In another record, the new ONOC Board consists of 41% women, something that falls in line with the International Olympic Committee’s Agenda 2020 gender equality initiative.

The full ONOC Executive  Board comprises of the following individuals:

Dr. Robin Mitchell (President), Baklai Temengil (Vice-President), Ricardo Blas (Secretary   General), Jim Tobin (FSM), Antoine Boudier (Vanuatu), Helen Brownlee (Australia), Mel Donald (PNG), John Coates (IOC Member- Australia), James          Tomkins (IOC Member- Australia), Barry Maister (IOC Member-      NZ) and Auvita Rapilla (IOC         Member-PNG).

The ONOC Assembly was provided with reports from various commissions such as the      Athletes Commission, the Medical Commission, the Women and Sports Commission  and the Education            Commission.

The next 2018 ONOC General Assembly meeting will be held in Nuku’alofa,Tonga.


Comments are Closed