Forum Economic Ministers Develops Action Plan

New Minister of Finance and National Planning Hon. Tevita Lavemaau (Nuku'alofa Times)

SUVA,Fiji- April 7: 10:43am(Nuku’alofa Times): The twentieth meeting of the Forum Economic Ministers was held in Suva, Fiji on 5-6 April 2017.

The Forum Economic Ministers Meeting (FEMM) was chaired by the Minister for Finance of Samoa, the Honourable Sili Epa Tuioti, and supported by the Secretary General of the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, Dame Meg Taylor.

The following Forum Member Countries were represented: Australia, Cook Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. Tokelau as also attend as an Associate Member.

FEMM Observer representatives included: the Asian Development Bank, the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, the European Commission’s Delegation for the Pacific, the International Monetary Fund Resident Representative Office, Pacific Financial Technical Assistance Centre, Oceania Customs Organisation, Pacific Islands Private Sector Organisation, the Secretariat of the Pacific Community, the South Pacific Tourism Organisation, the United Nations Development Programme, the University of the South Pacific and the World Bank Group.

Private Sector representatives and Civil Society Organisation also held a dialogue with Forum Economic Ministers on Thursday, 6 April 2017.

The theme of the Forum Economic Ministers Meeting was “Financing for Development Solutions”.

The meeting also covered The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development/Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), Regional Priorities & The Role of Forum Economic Ministers, Developing a Regional Finance Facility for the Pacific, Climate Change Finance and Climate Change Trust/Insurance Funds and also a Joint Dialogue between the private sector and the civil society organisations.

Comments are Closed