Piutau leads strong Ikale Tahi XV against Wales

Siale Piutau, Captain of the Ikale Tahi (photo: Rugby World)

AUCKLAND, New Zealand-June 14: 7:04pm(Nuku’alofa Times): Siale Piutau will lead a strong a Ikale Tahi against Wales in a one-off Test at Eden Park, Auckland on Friday night.

Head Coach Tautai Kefu has named Piutau ahead of veteran Nili Latu as captain of what is the strongest available national side for the match, which will kick off at 6pm Tongan time.

Latu has been named Flanker joining big named players such as Fullback David Halaifonua, Wingers Nafi Tuitavake and Cooper Vuna, Lock Sitiveni Mafi, Prop Ben Tameifuna, Hooker Paula Gauamo and Scrum-half Sonatane Takulua in the starting line-up named in Auckland this evening.

The Test match will be the Ikale Tahi’s only available warm-up before they face Manu Samoa here at Teufaiva Stadium on July 1st.

Coach Kefu will be looking for a good performance from the side on Friday evening and will be keen to see how the players fare against the Welsh Dragons.

Four players were ruled out because of injuries, including hard working Flanker Jack Ram.

Ram joins Joe Tuineau, Sione Lea and Penikolo Latu on the injury list.

Tuineau, Lea and Latu have been replaced in the squad for the upcoming World Cup Qualifiers.

Leva Fifita replaces Tuineau, Sione Lolohea comes into the squad in place of Lea while Kiti Taimani replaces Latu.

Here is the Ikale Tahi starting Line up against wales:

  1. Loose-head Prop – Latu Talakai
  2. Hooker – Paula Ngauamo
  3.  Tight-Head Prop – Ben Tameifuna
  4. Left Lock – Leva Fifita
  5. Right Lock – Sitiveni Mafi
  6.  Left Flanker – Dan Faleafa
  7.  Right Flanker – Nili Latu
  8. No 8. – Valentino Mapapalangi
  9. Scrum-Half – Sonatane Takulua
  10. Fly-Half –  Latiume Fosita
  11. Left Wing – Cooper Vuna
  12. Inside Center – Vili Tahitu’a
  13.  Outside Center – Siale Piutau (Captain)
  14. Right Wing – Nafi Tu’itavake
  15. Fullback – David Halaifonua
  16.  Suliasi Taufalele
  17. Sila Puafisi
  18. Phil Kite
  19. Sione Tau
  20. Mike Faleafa
  21. Leon Fukofuka
  22. Kali Hala
  23. Kiti Taimani

Comments are Closed